Music & Entertainment

Tunes of the Week – Love Da Records


Future Islands release ALAYA Remixes 3, the third and final installment in a series of remix EPs, containing songs from their critically acclaimed 2020 album As Long As You Are. The EP includes a high-energy house version of “City’s Face” by legendary house and techno producer Carl Cox, an ethereal version of “Born In A War” by experimentalist and violinist Sudan Archives, and a slowed down, moody remix of “Waking” by underground Hip-Hop producer Controller 7.

It can be said with confidence that no one has heard Big Thief as they sound on ‘Little Things’. Perhaps one of the band’s most propulsive songs yet, ‘Little Things’ is a story built upon a very literal sense of uncertainty. Released together with poetic, song-without-a-chorus track ‘Sparrow’, both songs were produced by Big Thief’s drummer James Krivchenia

Julien Baker announces the September 1st release of Little Oblivions Remixes EP, on which select tracks off the album are reworked by artists hand selected by Baker herself, including singer-songwriter Half Waif, slowcore / shoegaze pioneer Jesu, as well as acclaimed ambient-electronic artist Helios, whose take on “Bloodshot” has been released as the first taste of Little Oblivions Remixes. He transforms the heavy, electronics focused track into a dreamlike daze, accentuating Baker’s original melodies whilst bolstering the bittersweet lyrics and stunning vocal performance.

Following the release of his acclaimed EP Crush last April, today Day Wave has returned with breezy reverie “Before We Knew”, accompanied by  a stunning one-shot music video in the desert that captures a thematic sense of isolation, directed by Jason Lester (Rostam, Cautious Clay).

Orchestral tinged indie-pop trio, The Happy Fits — Calvin Langman, Ross Monteith, and Luke Davis — Release their new single “Another Try”, alongside a comic-book esque visualiser. Taken from their two-track bundle, which also includes the B-side track ‘Cold Turkey’. This is the first new music since the release of their 2020 HIT sophomore album, ‘What Could Be Better’.

KIRBY’s efforts to detail the trappings of relationships are once again unmatched on new single “Break Her Heart for Me” from forthcoming EP Sis, He Wasn’t The One“. her falsetto vocals yielding and soulful to match the candour in her lyrics, set against a divine backdrop of future-facing soul. KIRBY was already well known and much lauded for her skills in song-writing (Rihanna, Beyonce, Ariana Grande) before shifting the spotlight onto her own captivating artistry, with an upcoming US tour with John Legend.

Tune-Yards, the Oakland-based alt art-pop music project of Merrill Garbus and Nate Brenner, share a new remix of “hold yourself.“, featuring rising bedroom pop star Claud, following the first remix by celebrated South African producer, singer-songwriter, and rapper Spoek Mathambo.

The Cribs, who released their eighth album Night Network to universal acclaim in November 2020, have today announced details of the ‘Sonic Blew Singles Club’ which will run monthly until the end of the year. Starting with the release of the track Swinging At Shadows, fans who subscribe to the singles club will receive four 2-track 7”s (also available on DSPs) between August and December. Subscriptions will be limited, and available while stocks last.

Critically acclaimed electronic artist Joy Orbison – the artist name of Peter O’Grady – has released “Still Slipping Vol. 1“, his first ever long form project, via XL Recordings. He has also shared a song off the 14-track mixtape, “Better“, featuring the effortless vocals of London-based, French-Caribbean musician and producer Léa Sen

Leave a comment

Please Login to Comment.