General Kenyataan Media


We are extremely proud of the impressive successes of the nine Malaysian students, who qualified to compete in the World International Mathematical Olympiad (WIMO) in Tokyo, Japan.

Each of the students, some as young as seven, who competed on the world stage, successfully took home a medal each, resulting in Malaysia emerging as the overall champion with the best results of 2 World Champions, 6 Gold and 1 Silver.

I would like to take this opportunity to recognise the successes of the following students:

World Champions and Gold Medallists:
1. Yeoh Yi Shuen (SJK (C) Kwang Hwa)
2. Teoh Zhou Zhe (SJK (C) Min Terk)

Gold Medallists:
3. Alvis Leow Jin Ker (SJK (C) Jalan Davidson)
4. Brandon Choo Sze How (SJK (C) Jalan Davidson)
5. Chai Feng Ze (SJK (C) Jalan Davidson)
6. Hoo Jordan (SJK (C) Jalan Davidson)
7. Hoo Xinyi (SJK (C) Jalan Davidson)
8. Tang Yi Xuan (SJK (C) Serdang Baru 2)

Silver Medallist:
9. Cheah Jor Wii (SJK (C) Perempuan China)

Education is the cornerstone of nation-building and under the leadership of YAB Prime Minister Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad, the Pakatan Harapan Government will continue to embark on new policies to reform the Malaysian education system.

Through Shared Prosperity Vision 2030, emphasis will be placed on education as a fundamental step towards closing the economic and development disparity between income classes, territories and communities.

The Ministry of Economic Affairs is working closely with the Ministry of Education through stakeholder engagements to operationalise the principles and objectives of Shared Prosperity in the preparation of the 12th Malaysia Plan, a five-year medium-term plan that will offer a clear development roadmap for the country from 2021 to 2025.

Malaysia must be prepared to face challenging geopolitical and economic conditions at the dawn of the Fourth Industrial Revolution. I am confident that a united and holistic approach by the Government will ensure the success of education reform for the benefit of the future generation.

Minister of Economic Affairs

12 January 2020