Music & Entertainment z10

Tunes of the week – Love Da Records

The ever-enigmatic Claptone enlists fellow peer Paul Woolford for a remix of ‘Wake Up’, featuring vocals from Platinum-selling singer-songwriter James Vincent McMorrow.

Claptone’s album ‘Closer’ is set for release on 12th November, and will feature a string of collaborators and pop icons including Barry Manilow, Seal and more.

Legendary synth-pop duo ERASURE releases ‘The Neon Remixed’, which sees tracks from 2020’s ‘The Neon’ – the band’s highest charting album in over 25 years – remixed by a host of artists including Kim Ann Foxman, Hifi Sean, Octo Octa, Paul Humphreys (OMD), Andy Bell & Gareth Jones, Brixxtone, Theo Kottisand more.

BRIT Award winning artist Arlo Parks shares Unknown Mortal Orchestra‘s remix of “Too Good“, from her critically acclaimed debut ‘Collapsed In Sunbeams‘. The song is a shining example of Arlo’s prized poetry and tender delivery, while Unknown Mortal Orchestra’s remix adds a subtle and delicate twist to the original track

Gotts Street Park share their new single ‘Diego‘, from their upcoming 4-track EP of the same name. Famed for their contemporary take on a retro sound and collaborators such as Kali Uchis and Rejjie Snow, 2021 sees the notable Leeds collective take a different tack exploring the nucleus of GSP with a musical suite of instrumental songs inspired by film soundtracks.

Alongside the fourth and final episode of, ‘be not afraid’, on their Youtube channel, avant-pop duo Tune-Yards announce a trio of ‘hold yourself.‘ remixes. The first remix of ‘hold yourself.’ features the trademark “Township Tech” of celebrated South African artist Spoek Mathambo.

Following the success of their debut album ‘New Long Leg‘, post-punk band Dry Cleaning share a special one-off double A-side single ‘Bug Eggs’ / ‘Tony Speaks!’. Previously only available as bonus tracks, vocalist Florence Shaw says ‘Bug Eggs’ is about the confidence that comes with age, fragility and sexual desire, while ‘Tony Speaks!’ explores themes of climate change and political campaigning.

Hot on the heels of their critically acclaimed album ‘Afrique Victime‘, released in June, Tuareg guitar hero Mdou Moctar shares “Tala Tannam” (Debmaster Remix), which flips the song’s gentle acoustic guitar vamp into a pulsing and percussive rhythm track for Kenya-born/ Uganda-based rapper, MC Yallah (Nyege Nyege Tapes).

Australian punk band Amyl and the Sniffers release their fiery new single “Security”, the latest offering from their forthcoming second album ‘Comfort To Me‘, due out September 10 on Rough Trade Records. “Security”’s addictive hook and frontwoman Amy Taylor’s spirited vocal performance have made it a favourite at their live shows, while the music video features the singer in a graveyard.

Ahead of the release of The Third Chimpanzee RemixedMartin Gore – songwriter and founding member of Depeche Mode – has shared Berghain resident Barker’s mix of ‘Mandrill’. Barker’s take is from a forthcoming collection of remixes and reworkings of tracks from his acclaimed release, The Third Chimpanzee, set for release as a limited edition double-coloured vinyl, CD and digitally on Mute on 20 August 2021

4AD welcomes HAWA to its roster and reveals ‘Wake Up’, her debut single for the label. ‘Wake Up’ marks a softer side to the genre-bending rapper/singer’s oeuvre, centering petty ruminations atop a beat by Cadenze (Jorja Smith, Burna Boy) and recorded at long-time collaborator Tony Seltzer’s NYC studio.